Inspiring Talks #1

activities
13 November
09:00 - 10:30
Fairmont Le Reine Elizabeth — Duluth
What is the meaning of the performing arts in this period of mutations? This question is more crucial than ever for artists, presenters and citizens. This year, the conferences will bring together pioneers from around the world to explore the theme of "Sens*& Mutations”. We want to analyze the meaning of the arts as a porous idea, sensitive to external changes. The meaning of the arts also as an intention that contaminates mutations. The performing arts as a place for all citizens, a place of transformations, dialogues and possibilities.

* Sens could be translated by meaning, sense, line, direction, way, senses.

SIMULTANEOUS TRANSLATION AVAILABLE.
Participants
Olivia Ansell Sydney Opera House
THE SYDNEY OPERA IN 35 YEARS

Olivia Ansell is a leading arts curator, performing artist, director, choreographer, programmer and producer with more than 20 years’ experience in the sector. She commenced as the Head of Contemporary Performance in January 2018 leading Sydney Opera House Present’s newest programming area. Voted one of VIVID’s Top 100 Creative Catalysts, Olivia’s extensive industry experience includes roles as the co-executive producer and driving force behind the hugely-popular, immersive experience Hidden Sydney, Artistic Director of Sydney Comedy Festival, Curator of Kings Bloody Cross for Vivid Ideas and producer of Nigel Jamieson’s HOME – the Perth International Arts Festival’s large-scale concert spectacular featuring 500 artists performing for an audience of 50,000.
Émilie Monnet Onishka Prod.
POWERS AND RESPONSABILITIES

Integrating theatre, performance art and technology, Émilie Monnet’s artistic practice explores themes of identity, memory, co-existence and transformation. Her creations draw on the symbolic of dreams and mythology—personal and collective—to tell stories that question today’s world. In 2016, Émilie founded Indigenous Contemporary Scene (ICS), a critical and artistic manifestation of live-arts by indigenous artists. Émilie’s heritage is Anishnaabe and French, and she lives in Montreal. Her artistic engagement is inspired by years of social activism with indigenous organizations in Canada and Latin America as well as community art projects with incarcerated women and Aboriginal youth. She is the Théâtre d’aujourd’hui’s residency artist for the next 3 years.
Maria Cecilia Sanchez Teatro Sanchez Aguilar
THE ART OF ENGAGEMENT

Wife and mother of seven, graduated as an Economist from Trinity University, Washington DC and with two Masters in Administration and Educational Advisory in USA and Spain, María Cecilia has worked 15 years in the field of Education. In 2014 she accepted the commitment to assume the Executive Direction of the Sánchez Aguilar Foundation. Since 2012 the Sanchez Aguilar Theater is the latest addition to the work carried out by the Foundation whose motto is "Educar es Liberar", to educate is to liberate. The work of the Foundation revolves around the scholarship program for teenagers, the training center for women, the shelter for families who have patients at hospitals and the projects developed in order to build publics and bring the community close to the Theater.
Sanjay Khanna
ARTS AND CLIMATE FUTURES

Sanjay Khanna is a futurist, speaker, and thought leader. He was a 2014-2015 Visiting Scholar at Massey College, University of Toronto, Canada’s leading interdisciplinary institution, where he researched strategic foresight. Mr. Khanna turns original thinking into strategic insight for today—and years ahead. Amid growing risks and uncertainty, he helps businesses, governments and not-for-profits to adapt to the future. Mr. Khanna is director of the Whitespace Legal Collab at Baker & McKenzie LLP, the first global legal innovation hub devoted to multidisciplinary collaboration.
dance OFF CINARS

Aakash Odedra Company

A breathtaking dance-theatre piece choreographed by Aakash Odedra about individuals trying to find a voice to stand against oppression. Winner of the Freedom of Expression Award 2017 by Amnesty International, #JeSuis features an ensemble of seven...

12 November 2018 at 20:00

dance OFF CINARS

Andrea Peña & Artists

“6.58” presents three disarticulated tableaus that experiment the notion of flesh and mind, mediated by external forces. An exploration of 5 dancers, in conversation with the hegemony of a a machine, opera singer, and a DJ. Dancers:...

Many dates

dance Official Programming

Cas Public + KOPERGIETERY

Known for its eloquent dance, Cas Public now houses an atypical performer, Cai Glover, who overcame a hearing impairment to become a professional dancer. Hélène Blackburn has taken the unusual step of using his disability as a point of departure...

15 November 2018 at 14:30

dance OFF CINARS

Cas Public + Kopergietery

Known for its eloquent dance, Cas Public now houses an atypical performer, Cai Glover, who overcame a hearing impairment to become a professional dancer. Choreographer Hélène Blackburn has taken the unusual step of using his disability as a point...

Many dates

theatre OFF CINARS

creature/creature

A Casual Reconstruction is an interdisciplinary encounter between two old friends about blood, mothers, and the uncomfortable feelings around being native and/or non-native. Audience members act as avatars for six culturally mixed...

14 November 2018 at 18:45

circus Official Programming

Jamie Adkins

World renowned clown, juggler, and comic acrobat, Jamie Adkins, stumbles onstage, desperately trying to become the man he imagines himself to be. Sometimes endearing with his skillfully awkward juggling, his character always ends up touching the...

14 November 2018 at 14:30

Conférences inspirantes #1

Activités
13 novembre
09:00 - 10:30
Fairmont Le Reine Elizabeth — Duluth
Quel est le sens des arts vivants en cette période de grandes mutations ? Cette question est plus brûlante que jamais pour les artistes, les lieux de diffusions et les citoyens. Cette année les conférences rassembleront des pionniers des quatre coins du monde pour explorer le thème de "Sens & Mutations". Nous voulons explorer le sens comme une idée poreuse sensible aux changements extérieurs. Le sens aussi comme une intention qui contamine les mutations. Les arts de la scène comme un lieu de rassemblement citoyen, un lieu de transformations, de dialogues et de possibles.

TRADUCTION SIMULTANÉE DISPONIBLE.
Participants
Olivia Ansell Sydney Opera House
L'OPÉRA DE SYDNEY DANS 35 ANS

Olivia Ansell est une curatrice de premier plan dans le secteur des arts, artiste interprète, directrice, chorégraphe, programmatrice et productrice, elle cumule plus d’une vingtaine d’années d’expériences dans le secteur. Depuis janvier 2018, elle est directrice d’un nouveau segment de programmation du Sydney Opera House Present dédié à la scène contemporaine.
Élue dans le top 100 des catalyseurs créatifs par le festival VIVID , Olivia a une vaste expérience dans l’industrie incluant des fonctions de coprodutrice exécutive et élément moteur derrière la très populaire expérience immersive Hidden Sydney, la direction artistique du Sydney Comedy Festival, la curation de Kings Bloody Cross dans le cadre de Vivid Ideas ou la production du projet HOME de Nigel Jamieson, le plus grand concert donné au Perth International Arts Festival mettant en scène 500 artistes devant 50,000 spectateurs.
Émilie Monnet Onishka Prod.
POUVOIRS ET RESPONSABILITÉS

Au croisement entre le théâtre, la performance et les arts médiatiques, la pratique artistique d’Émilie Monnet s’articule autour des questions d’identité, de mémoire, d’histoire et de transformation. En 2016, elle fondait Scène contemporaine autochtone (SCA), une manifestation artistique et critique faisant place à la création autochtone en arts vivants. De mère anishnaabe et de père français, l'engagement artistique d'Émilie s’inspire de nombreuses années d’activisme auprès d’organisations autochtones (Canada et Amérique Latine), et de sa participation à des projets artistiques avec des femmes judiciarisées et jeunes autochtones. Emilie Monnet est l’artiste en résidence du Centre du Théâtre d’Aujourd’hui pour les trois prochaines années.
Maria Cecilia Sanchez Teatro Sanchez Aguilar
L'ART DE L'ENGAGEMENT

Épouse et mère de sept enfants, diplômée en économie à la Trinity University, à Washington DC, et titulaire de deux maîtrises en administration et conseils en éducation aux États-Unis et en Espagne, María Cecilia a travaillé pendant 15 ans dans le domaine de l’éducation. En 2014, elle a accepté la direction exécutive de la Fondation Sánchez Aguilar. Créé en 2012, le théâtre Sanchez Aguilar est la dernière œuvre de la Fondation dont le slogan est "Educar es Liberar", Éduquer c'est Libérer. La Fondation a développé aussi bien des programmes de bourses pour les adolescents, qu’un centre de formation pour les femmes, un lieu d'hébergement pour les familles qui accompagne les patients hospitalisés ou des projets pour créer des publics et rapprocher la communauté du théâtre.
Sanjay Khanna
L'AVENIR DES ARTS ET DU CLIMAT

Sanjay Khanna est futurologue, conférencier et leader d'opinion. Il a été chercheur invité 2014-2015 au Massey College de l’Université de Toronto, une institution interdisciplinaire de premier plan au Canada, où il a effectué des recherches en veille stratégique. Monsieur Khanna transforme les idées originales en perspectives stratégiques pour aujourd'hui et pour les années à venir. Il aide les entreprises, les gouvernements et les organisations à but non lucratif à s’adapter à l’avenir dans un contexte de risques croissants et d’incertitudes. Sanjay Khanna est actuellement le directeur du « Whitespace Legal Collab » au sein du cabinet d’avocat Baker & McKenzie, le premier centre d’innovation internationale multidisciplinaire dans le secteur juridique.
danse OFF CINARS

Aakash Odedra Company

Une pièce de danse-théâtre bouleversante, chorégraphiée par Aakash Odedra, qui traite de ceux qui se battent contre l'oppression. Lauréat du Freedom of Expression Award 2017 décerné par Amnistie Internationale, #JeSuis réunit sur scène sept...

12 novembre 2018 à 20:00

danse OFF CINARS

Andrea Peña & Artists

6.58 présente sous trois tableaux, une exploration rythmique, sensuelle et inhabituelle de l’artifice au cœur de notre société contemporaine. 5 danseurs en conversation avec l’hégémonie des machines, une chanteuse d’opéra et un DJ, sont à la...

Plusieurs dates

danse OFF CINARS

Cas Public + Kopergietery

Cas Public, reconnue pour sa danse éloquente, héberge en son sein un danseur atypique. Cai Glover est malentendant. Ce handicap qu’il a surmonté pour devenir danseur professionnel, la chorégraphe Hélène Blackburn fait le pari de l'utiliser comme...

Plusieurs dates

danse Programmation Officielle

Cas Public + KOPERGIETERY

Cas Public, reconnue pour sa danse éloquente, héberge en son sein un danseur atypique. Cai Glover est malentendant. Ce handicap qu’il a surmonté pour devenir danseur, Hélène Blackburn fait le pari de l'utiliser comme point de départ de sa nouvelle...

15 novembre 2018 à 14:30

theatre OFF CINARS

creature/creature

A Casual Reconstruction est une rencontre interdisciplinaire entre deux amies qui discutent leurs racines, leurs mères et des sentiments inconfortables d'être ou ne pas être premières nations. Le public sert d'avatars pour six...

14 novembre 2018 à 18:45

danse OFF CINARS

Bouge de là

Terrain de jeu déjanté à l’univers graphique coloré, À travers mes yeux nous ramène à ce qu’il y a de plus beau chez l’enfant : son inlassable capacité à s’émerveiller. Danseurs : Emmanuelle Martin, Myriam Tremblay, Julie Tymchuk, Émilie...

14 novembre 2018 à 12:30